Christina Contemplates

Just my average life, full of nonsense and stories…

MTV Has Changed June 9, 2011

Filed under: Thinking Back — christinalynnjones @ 8:20 AM
Tags: , , , , , ,

One of my favorite shows on MTV was “My Super Sweet Sixteen.” It was about a bunch of rich teenagers throwing the “best” party their city has ever seen and showcasing it to other teenagers who wish they could have that type of party…. They could if they had the money. Unfortunately, I was never able to have a huge party for my 16th birthday and that is why I loved watching that show. My family wasn’tt lucky enough to have tons and tons of money. (I did still have a great 16th birthday) BUT…… How did MTV go from the innocent “My Super Sweet Sixteen” toΒ “Sixteen and Pregnant”?! The audience age has not changed but the shows and the maturity level of the shows have. I’m not saying that it isn’t a good show because for some reason I am drawn to them and think the stories are interesting. But maybe I am the only one thinking that…. Comments, answers? What do you think?

 

6 Responses to “MTV Has Changed”

  1. Vilho Says:

    You know now that i think of it, you’re right. MTV has matured so much compared to it’s audience(usually teenagers, who have no idea what to do with their lives yet). I also don’t think it’s a good thing in a way. The current shows don’t really appeal to me.

    Well what i think of your blog: i think it is .. . . .. …………………………………………….. GREAT! Keep writing or typing rather! haaaaha πŸ™‚

  2. aeliusblythe Says:

    Are you sure you would call “My Super Sweet Sixteen” innocent? Though mildly entertained at fist, I couldn’t watch more than a few episodes. It’s a show about a class of youngsters so walled-off from reality by money that they are at a severe disadvantage developmentally, socially, and career-wise.
    If money doesn’t get those kids everything they want, then they will likely have nothing. Getting dumped into adulthood from a fantasy world is rarely a recipe for success. It is one thing for an adult to choose that lifestyle, but it is terrible to see a child raised in it who knows no different. Hardly innocent in my mind.

    • clj2992 Says:

      Innocent as in they didn’t tape a teenager’s pregnancy and show case it to the world. Yes, you are right in what you state. However, my family is quite well-off (we weren’t at the time of my 16th birthday) now and I admit that I am spoiled but I know for sure that I am rady for the real world; I am ready to be an adult.

      • aeliusblythe Says:

        I get what you’re saying–that it’s relatively less innocent now.

        I certainly didn’t mean to suggest that ALL well-off children are unready for the real world. Sorry if there was any offense taken–I didn’t intend any! All I meant is that, in general, the kids on those shows are spoiled to the point of delusion, and this is really sad.

        Of course I know they choose the most extreme cases, and then only show the most extreme clips because watching well-adjusted teenagers act reasonably is dull. And I think that’s part of the problem both with the shows from then and now. The most interesting things are at the extremes, whether it’s wildly rich party girls or pregnant teens. Personally, I don’t really like either.

      • clj2992 Says:

        I absolutely LOVE that you gave me your opinion. It’s great to be in a discussion! But no offense taken either. I understand where you are coming from; I just decided to clarify. πŸ™‚ Thanks!


Leave a Reply! Tell me what YOU think!

